College Opening Assembly

Celebrating Remarkable Achievements at the 2024 Opening Assembly

St Mary's College


Greetings to the St Mary's College for the Deaf community! As we kick off the academic year, we are thrilled to celebrate the achievements and successes of our students at the Opening Assembly for 2024. This assembly was also a great opportunity for students to meet and socialise with like-minded students from across our 6 campuses through some fun and games after the formalities.

Recognising Excellence:

Principal's Award
Principal's Award Recipients: Luis Fragale, Ethan Goktepe, Baylee Jones, Thomas Holden, Rosetta Shaba and Ewan Franso.

We congratulate all students on their personal achievements thus far, and particularly those who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to their learning. The awards ceremony was a testament to the hard work and perseverance students showed through 2023, and we are proud to recognise their achievements in various categories.

  • Dux Award: This prestigious accolade is reserved for the student who has achieved the highest academic standing. Congratulations to the 2023 Dux Valmira Dzelan, who exemplifies the pursuit of excellence in their studies with an ATAR of 83.6. An honorable mention also to Thrisha Mohan who achieved an ATAR over 80.
  • Principal's Award: A special commendation from the principal, this award recognises a student from each campus who have shown positive actions or involvement undertaken over the previous year. Well done to Baylee Jones, Luis Fragale, Thomas Holden, Ewan Franso, Rosetta Shaba, Ethan Goktepe.
  • Dominican Award: In the spirit of our Dominican values, this award honours a student who has demonstrated a strong commitment to Dominican pillars of Prayer, Study, Community Life and Service. We applaud Daniel Tabios' dedication to making a positive impact on the world around them.
  • PBL (Positive Behaviour Award): Presented by Ms Sue Reed from the Melbourne Deaf and Hard of Hearing Lions Club Branch, this year we congratulate two primary and two secondary student who have shown Self Advocacy, Growth Mindset and Connection with Peers. Well done to our award recipients, Isabella Slavik, Hila Akbar, Angad Singh and Evie Finch.
  • Paul Buick Award: Named in honor of a long serving past parent and Board member Mr Paul Buick, this award recognises a student who has made a significant contribution not only to the St Mary’s community but the community of our partner schools. We commend Geoffrey Qiu and Jack Aston for their exceptional passion and involvement.

Introducing the 2024 Student Leadership Team:

At St Mary's College for the Deaf, we believe in nurturing leadership skills and empowering our students to become positive influencers in their community. It is with great pleasure that we introduce the Student Leadership Team for 2024:

Student Leadership
Our 2024 Student Leadership team.
  • Wantirna South Campus Ira Mehta
  • Dandenong Campus: Cleyara Warnakulasooriya
  • Ringwood Campus: Jack Aston
  • South Morang Campus: Tanisha Iyer
  • Sunbury Campus: Rosetta Shaba
  • Tarneit Campus: Lianna Selle

These students have been chosen for their exceptional leadership qualities, commitment to the St Mary's College values, and dedication to fostering a positive school environment. We have full confidence in their ability to inspire their peers and contribute to the continued success of our college.

Congratulations to all our award recipients and best wishes to the 2024 Student Leadership Team.

As we begin a new academic year, let us carry the spirit of God in our everyday life as we grow, collaborate and share each moment.